Page Rowland Thorn
 » post date: 4/27/2017 » back to News Listing
   tweet this  share this on facebook  
Blue Mountain College president Barbara McMillin presided over Awards Day ceremonies honoring BMC students for academic excellence and leadership.

Page Rowland Thorn received the Sibyl Brame Townsend Warren Christian Leadership and Service Award.

The Board of Trustees of Blue Mountain College established an award in recognition of the contributions Mrs. Warren made to the College and in appreciation of her Christian dedication and influence which are known throughout the Southern Baptist Convention.

The award is presented annually to an outstanding student who, in the judgment of the BMC faculty and staff, has shown consistent Christian leadership through her actions, attitude, participation in a variety of activities, who is dependable, and shows a high degree of promise which manifests itself in the same type of fruitful life as Mrs. Warren’s was through the years.

Thorn, a senior mathematics major and cross country runner, also received the Anne Sanford Mathematics Award that was established by Anne and Ben Sanford and is presented annually to an outstanding mathematics major. Dr. Martha Pratt, associate professor of mathematics, presented Thorn the award.

Earlier in the academic year, Page was selected as Blue Mountain College’s HEADWAE student representative. The Mississippi legislature established the program to honor academically talented students and faculty who promote academic excellence. She was also named to Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges that honors students based on outstanding campus leadership, scholastic ability (includes a GPA requirement), leadership on and off campus, and community service.